Cathay Pacific Airways · 0293 (HKEX) · FY2025
Cathay Pacific Asia Miles by the numbers
Cathay Pacific discloses less about its program than most airlines on this page. Membership grew 27% in 2025 and flight redemptions passed pre-pandemic levels, but there is no published member count, loyalty revenue or miles liability: miles sit inside HK$20.9 billion of contract liabilities together with tickets sold and not yet flown.
Written and reviewed by the Points Plug team. Last reviewed .
What Cathay Pacific Airways reports
- Deferred revenue for unredeemed miles
- HK$20.9 billion
- Total contract liabilities at 30 June 2025 (HK$18.4 billion at 31 December 2024). This line includes unflown tickets as well as miles; Cathay does not split the loyalty share.
- Members
- Not disclosed
- The 2025 annual report says the membership base grew 27% in the year but gives no absolute count.
Card partners and deals
- Standard Chartered (exclusive banking partner in Hong Kong), Synchrony Financial (United States), BNU (Macao), CIMB Niaga (Indonesia), China Industrial Bank (mainland China), and Mastercard.
- Card Linked Earn covers more than 100 partner brands.
How the miles are accounted for
- Cathay reports miles inside "contract liabilities" alongside unflown ticket revenue and does not disclose loyalty revenue, a loyalty profit or the miles share of the balance.
What it means
What the annual report does show is the direction of travel. Cathay merged Asia Miles and the Marco Polo Club into a single "Cathay" membership, added Card Linked Earn across more than 100 brands, and lists bank partners on four continents. That is the standard playbook for turning a frequent flyer scheme into a coalition currency.
The contract liability line rose HK$2.5 billion in the first half of 2025 alone. Because it mixes tickets and miles, the change mostly reflects forward bookings, not the program, and it should not be compared with the pure miles balances reported by the US airlines.
Group context: revenue of HK$116.8 billion and profit attributable to shareholders of HK$10.8 billion in 2025.
What it means for your Cathay Pacific Asia Miles balance
A program that earns more from selling miles to banks than from flights has an incentive to keep issuing them, and the deferred revenue line is the airline's own estimate of what an average outstanding mile will cost it to honour. Compare that with published valuations and with what Points Plug pays to see where your balance stands.
Cathay Pacific Asia Miles finances: FAQ
- Does Cathay Pacific report loyalty revenue?
- No. Cathay does not break out the program's revenue, profit or the miles share of its contract liabilities.
- How many Cathay members are there?
- Cathay says its membership base grew 27% in 2025 but does not publish a count.
- Who issues Cathay credit cards?
- Standard Chartered in Hong Kong, Synchrony in the United States, BNU in Macao, CIMB Niaga in Indonesia and China Industrial Bank in mainland China, per the 2025 annual report.
Sources
- Cathay Pacific annual report 2025 · official page
- Cathay Pacific interim report 2025 · official page