How airline miles affect airline profits
Airline miles are a financial product before they are a travel product. Banks buy them by the billion to give away with credit cards, the airline banks the cash on day one, and the cost of the flight is paid only when the mile is redeemed, if ever. That is why the loyalty program is often the most profitable part of a listed airline, why lenders accept miles as collateral, and why the accounts of every big carrier now carry a multi-billion liability labelled deferred revenue.
This section reads what the airlines themselves publish: US 10-K and 10-Q filings, annual reports, results releases and investor presentations. Each program page gives the exact line and document. Where a company does not break out its program, the page says so rather than guessing; Lufthansa and Turkish Airlines disclose nothing usable and are not covered.
Written and reviewed by the Points Plug team. Last reviewed .
| Program | Year | Loyalty revenue | Card partner cash | Miles liability | Members |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| United MileagePlus | FY2025 | US$6.6 billion | US$3.2 billion | US$7.8 billion | 10.9 million flight awards |
| American Airlines AAdvantage | FY2025 | US$7.5 billion | US$6.2 billion | US$10.6 billion | – |
| Delta SkyMiles | FY2025 | US$7.6 billion | US$8.2 billion | US$9.3 billion | 35 million award tickets |
| Alaska Atmos Rewards | FY2025 | US$2.3 billion | +19% year on year | US$3.4 billion | – |
| Air Canada Aeroplan | FY2025 | C$1.7 billion other revenues | – | C$1.84 billion current | 10 million+ |
| JetBlue TrueBlue | FY2025 and H1 2026 | US$665 million (H1 2026) | +21% year on year | US$1.23 billion | Not disclosed |
| Avianca LifeMiles | FY2025 | Not disclosed | – | US$483.5 million | 16 million |
| Singapore Airlines KrisFlyer | FY2025/26 (to 31 March 2026) | S$1.6 billion | – | S$1,415 million | 11.8 million |
| Cathay Pacific Asia Miles | FY2025 | – | – | HK$20.9 billion | Not disclosed |
| Korean Air SKYPASS | Not confirmed | – | – | Not confirmed | Not disclosed |
| JAL Mileage Bank | FY2025 (to 31 March 2026) | ¥222.2 billion | – | – | Not disclosed |
| ANA Mileage Club | FY2025 (to 31 March 2026) | ¥189.5 billion | – | – | Not disclosed |
| Qantas Frequent Flyer | FY26 (to 30 June 2026) | A$2.9 billion | – | – | 18.9 million |
| Virgin Australia Velocity | FY26 (to 30 June 2026) | A$486.6 million | – | – | About 13 million |
| British Airways Club | FY2025 | 200 billion Avios issued | – | – | 10.6 million active |
| Air France-KLM Flying Blue | FY2025 | €886 million | – | €921 million | 30 million+ |
| Virgin Atlantic Flying Club | FY2025 | – | – | – | Not disclosed |
| Emirates Skywards | FY2025/26 (to 31 March 2026) | – | – | – | Not disclosed |
| Etihad Guest | FY2025 | – | – | – | Not disclosed |
| Qatar Airways Privilege Club | FY2025/26 (to 31 March 2026) | – | – | QAR 2,807 million | Not disclosed |
Figures are as each airline reports them and are not directly comparable: definitions, currencies and fiscal years differ. Each program page gives the exact line and document.
How a mile moves through the accounts
When a bank pays for miles, the airline does not book revenue. It records a liability, deferred revenue, at the estimated selling price of a mile, and recognises the revenue only when the mile is redeemed for a flight. United describes the selling price as "an equivalent ticket value, which incorporates the expected redemption of miles". Delta says its miles "are combined in one homogeneous pool and are not separately identifiable". IAG Loyalty put it plainly to investors: partners pay upfront for issuing Avios, but "most revenue is only recognized upon customer redemption, not issuance".
Part of what the bank pays is recognised at once, because it buys things other than flights: marketing to the airline's members, brand use, lounge access, boarding perks. United booked US$3.2 billion of partner payments this way in 2025, American US$3.5 billion of "marketing services" revenue and Delta US$3.4 billion of "loyalty program" revenue. Only the travel component waits on redemption.
Breakage: the miles that never fly
Every program assumes some miles will expire or sit unused, and it books that share as revenue without ever providing a seat. United says its "mileage breakage model is based on the assumption that the likelihood that an account will redeem its miles can be estimated based on a consideration of the account's historical behavior". Singapore Airlines defers revenue "based on historical trends of breakage, which is then used to project the expected utilisation of these benefits". Delta and United both say most new miles are redeemed within two years.
Breakage is also why programs that never expire miles, such as Delta and United, still earn from them: a balance that is forgotten is as good as one that expires, and the accounting estimate does the rest. For a member, an unused balance is a gift to the airline, which is the case for selling miles you will not redeem.
Why loyalty margins beat flying margins
IAG's investor day laid out the economics: financial-services partners (card issuers) earn IAG Loyalty a 25% to 35% operating margin, retail partners 5% to 10%, and the airline's own use of Avios roughly breaks even; capital spending is under £50 million a year, and cash arrives at issuance while the cost arrives at redemption. The disclosed segment margins line up: Qantas Loyalty 21.7%, Flying Blue 24.6%, IAG Loyalty about 19%, JAL's mileage and lifestyle segment about 20%, against group operating margins of about 9% at Delta and Qantas and 15% at IAG.
Delta calls loyalty and premium "high-margin, diversified revenue streams" and reports American Express payments of US$8.2 billion in 2025 on the way to a US$10 billion target. Sixty percent of Delta's revenue now comes from what it calls diverse streams, of which the card deal is the largest.
The liability is real, and it is growing
- The four big US programs carried about US$31 billion of loyalty deferred revenue at 31 December 2025: American US$10.6 billion, Delta US$9.3 billion, United US$7.8 billion and Alaska US$3.4 billion. Six months later American was at US$11.6 billion, Delta US$9.6 billion and United US$8.0 billion.
- During the pandemic the programs became collateral. American borrowed US$10 billion against AAdvantage in 2021, Delta US$9 billion against SkyMiles in 2020 and United US$6.8 billion against MileagePlus. United has repaid its notes in full; Delta had US$3.4 billion outstanding at 30 June 2026 and American about US$6.8 billion.
- Those loans came with covenants. Delta's 10-K notes that the SkyMiles financing restricts program changes that would "materially impair" repayment, which is one reason a devaluation is never only a marketing decision.
What this means for a member
The airline books your balance as a cost it expects to bear, valued at what an average mile is worth to it, not to you. A program that earns most of its cash from a bank has every reason to keep issuing miles and to keep the redemption cost per mile in check, which shows up as dynamic pricing and periodic devaluations. The valuations page tracks what a mile buys today; the program pages here show how much each airline is carrying and how fast it is issuing.
Loyalty economics FAQ
- How do airlines make money from frequent flyer miles?
- Mostly by selling them to banks for co-brand credit cards. American took US$6.2 billion in cash from card and other partners in 2025 and Delta US$8.2 billion from American Express. The airline recognises part of that at once as marketing revenue and the rest when the miles are redeemed, less the miles it estimates will never be used.
- Are airline miles a liability for the airline?
- Yes. Unredeemed miles sit on the balance sheet as deferred revenue: US$10.6 billion at American, US$9.3 billion at Delta and US$7.8 billion at United at the end of 2025. The airline settles the liability by flying the member, at its own cost, or through breakage when miles go unused.
- Which airline loyalty program is the most profitable?
- Among those that disclose a segment, Qantas Loyalty made A$625 million of underlying EBIT in its 2026 fiscal year at a 21.7% margin, IAG Loyalty £469 million (€548 million) in 2025, Flying Blue €218 million at 24.6%, and JAL's mileage, lifestyle and infrastructure segment ¥45.5 billion. The US carriers do not report a loyalty segment, but Delta's US$8.2 billion from American Express is the largest single card deal disclosed.
- What is breakage?
- The share of miles the airline expects will never be redeemed. It is estimated from members' past behaviour and recognised as revenue without a flight being provided, which is why programs with no expiry still profit from forgotten balances.
- Did airlines borrow against their loyalty programs?
- Yes, in 2020 and 2021. United raised US$6.8 billion against MileagePlus and has repaid it, Delta US$9 billion against SkyMiles with US$3.4 billion still outstanding in mid-2026, and American US$10 billion against AAdvantage with about US$6.8 billion outstanding at the end of 2025. Alaska carries about US$2 billion of loyalty-secured debt due through 2031.
Sources
- United Airlines 10-K for 2025 (revenue recognition and breakage) · official page
- Delta Air Lines 10-K for 2025 · official page
- American Airlines 10-K for 2025 · official page
- Alaska Air Group 10-K for 2025 · official page
- IAG Loyalty investor insight day, June 2026 · official page
- Singapore Airlines annual report FY2025/26 · official page
- Qantas FY26 investor presentation · official page
- Air France-KLM full year 2025 results · official page