How award availability works
Miles are only worth what they can book, and the seats are the constraint. This guide explains how airlines decide which seats can be bought with miles, what the programs themselves say about it, and the booking window, holds and waitlist rules for every program on this site.
Written and reviewed by the Points Plug team. Last reviewed .
Two kinds of award seat
Every airline runs revenue management: a forecast of how many seats each flight will sell at each price. Award seats come out of that forecast in two ways. The first is a small pool of "saver" seats (American's Web Special and MileSAAver history, United's Saver, Delta's lowest tier, KrisFlyer Saver, Qantas Classic) that the airline expects would otherwise fly empty; these are the seats partner programs can book, and they are capacity-controlled flight by flight. The second is everything else: any unsold seat, sold for miles at a price tied to the cash fare. Only the operating airline's own program sells the second kind.
That split explains most of what frustrates members. A partner search shows nothing because the saver pool is empty, while the airline's own site shows a seat at three times the price. A saver seat appears eleven months out, disappears as the cash forecast firms up, and returns in the last two weeks when the airline knows the seat will not sell. And premium cabins, where the cash fare is highest, get the fewest saver seats of all.
Airlines do not disclose how many saver seats a flight carries. What they do publish is the booking window, the names of the tiers, the partners bookable online, and whether a seat can be held or waitlisted. That is the table below.
| Program | Awards open | Partners online | Holds | Waitlist | Close-in fee |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| United MileagePlus | Not confirmed; united.com could not be read | Not confirmed; united.com could not be read | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed |
| American Airlines AAdvantage | 331 days to 2 hours before departure | Most partners bookable on aa.com | Free 1-day hold for bookings 7 to 331 days out; instant purchase within 6 days | None | None on current pages |
| Delta SkyMiles | Delta does not state a booking window | Most partners on delta.com; Air Europa and Kenya Airways by phone; Skymark by form | None found | None | None (72-hour advance purchase in some countries) |
| Alaska Atmos Rewards | Not confirmed; Alaska's award FAQ could not be read | All partners online except Cathay Pacific and LATAM, which need a call | Not confirmed | None | None found; partner awards carry a booking fee whose current amount could not be read |
| Air Canada Aeroplan | Not confirmed; book at least 2 hours before departure | Yes; C$39 partner booking fee per ticket; C$30 fee to book through the contact centre | Not confirmed | None | None; C$30 phone fee only |
| JetBlue TrueBlue | Any JetBlue flight on sale; no separate award window stated | United, Qatar Airways, Icelandair and Condor in the jetblue.com search | None found | None found | None found |
| Avianca LifeMiles | Not published on a readable LifeMiles page | Avianca and partner awards searched and booked on lifemiles.com; Avianca upgrades by phone | None found | None found | None found |
| Singapore Airlines KrisFlyer | Not stated for awards; general bookings open 355 days out | Star Alliance and partner awards online; offline booking US$25 or 2,500 miles, waived for PPS Club | None | Saver and Advantage on Singapore Airlines flights up to 3 weeks out, decided 2 weeks out; none on Access or Star Alliance awards | None |
| Cathay Pacific Asia Miles | 360 days | Cathay and certain partner awards online; the rest through Customer Care for US$40 or 6,000 miles | None found | Upgrade and Companion Awards only, up to 10 at a time | None |
| Korean Air SKYPASS | Not confirmed; international awards must be ticketed before reaching the airport | SkyTeam awards on the website, app or service centre | None | Yes, online; not at the airport | None |
| JAL Mileage Bank | 360 days, from midnight Japan time; website bookings close 48 hours before departure | Most partners online; Jetstar Japan international awards by phone | Not confirmed | International JAL awards, First Class only | None |
| ANA Mileage Club | 355 days before departure, from 9:00 a.m. Japan time | Online, except children aged 2 to 11 travelling alone and bookings that include an infant under 2, which need a call | None found | International: one flight on one one-way sector until 14 days out, and may be refused. Domestic: Diamond members only | None found |
| Qantas Frequent Flyer | 353 days to 2 hours (domestic) or 4 hours (international) before departure | Qantas, Jetstar, oneworld and partners online; phone bookings pay a Reward Assistance Fee, waived for Platinum One | None | Classic Upgrade Rewards only | None |
| Virgin Australia Velocity | Not published on the pages read; online booking closes 1 hour before Virgin Australia domestic and short-haul international flights and 24 hours before partner flights | Some partners online at virginaustralia.com (Singapore Airlines only online), others through the Membership Contact Centre | None found | None found | None; online booking closes 1 hour (domestic) or 24 hours (partners) before departure |
| British Airways Club | 355 days | BA and most partners online; call for help with a specific partner (£15, €15 or US$25 service charge) | None | No; reward bookings cannot be waitlisted | None |
| Lufthansa Miles & More | 361 days; tickets can be issued up to 180 minutes before departure | Online booking form for Lufthansa Group and partners; the service team handles special cases | Not confirmed | None | None found |
| Air France-KLM Flying Blue | Not confirmed; flyingblue.com could not be read | Air France, KLM and partners on flyingblue.com | Not confirmed | None | None found |
| Turkish Airlines Miles&Smiles | Not confirmed | Turkish flights online; itineraries that combine partners need a call | Reservation option period; the ticket must be issued within it | None | None found |
| Virgin Atlantic Flying Club | Not stated; the Reward Seat Checker shows prices about a year ahead | Partner seats confirmed within 48 hours | Not confirmed | None | None found |
| Emirates Skywards | 11 months | Emirates and flydubai online; partner reward changes go through the Skywards team | Not confirmed | None | None found |
| Etihad Guest | Not confirmed | Online or by phone for partner awards | Not confirmed | None | None found |
| Qatar Airways Privilege Club | Not confirmed; ticketing time limits vary by tier | Qatar Airways, oneworld and partner awards online | None found | None | None |
What each program says about releasing seats
- United MileagePlus
- Saver Awards are United's lowest award prices. Its February 2026 release quotes Polaris business Saver Awards from 80,000 miles, or from 72,000 for United cardholders and 68,000 for Premier cardholders, who get at least 10% and 15% off.
- United's award pages load only with JavaScript, so how it releases and prices other award seats could not be read.
- United: award redeposit fees (page loads only with JavaScript)
- American Airlines AAdvantage
- Dynamic pricing on American flights: any seat that is on sale can be bought with miles, from 7,500 miles each way plus taxes and carrier fees from US$5.60 per person.
- Partner awards are "subject to special limitations on seating availability" set by the partner airline. American does not publish how many seats a partner releases.
- Awards that include certain partners come with shorter hold times than American's own flights.
- AAdvantage FAQ: booking, holds and cancelling award tickets
- Delta SkyMiles
- Dynamic pricing with no blackout dates on Delta flights. The award calendar shows the lowest price options by day.
- All awards are subject to availability, Delta may limit award seats to any destination, and seats on Delta Connection and partner flights may be limited.
- Awards for travel starting in China, Russia, Indonesia, Singapore, Vietnam, Brazil or any African country need a 72-hour advance purchase.
- SkyMiles program rules
- Alaska Atmos Rewards
- Partner awards are subject to seating limitations and may not be available on every flight, in Alaska's own words.
- Alaska's own flights price by route and date; the Atmos Rewards award chart page has the ranges.
- Alaska Airlines: about award options and partner booking
- Air Canada Aeroplan
- Any Air Canada seat on sale for cash can be booked with points, in every fare class with no blackout periods. The points price tracks the cash fare.
- Partner rewards cost a fixed number of points based on the distance flown, from the partner chart.
- Rewards on Air Creebec and Calm Air must be booked at least 48 hours before departure.
- Aeroplan Flight Reward Policy
- JetBlue TrueBlue
- JetBlue says members can redeem points for any JetBlue-operated flight, with the points needed "based on the published base fare at the time of booking" and no blackout dates.
- Partner inventory "is entirely at the operating carrier's discretion"; United seats under Blue Sky are capacity-controlled, with limited availability on high-demand flights.
- JetBlue: redeeming points help page
- Avianca LifeMiles
- LifeMiles shows the miles required for each itinerary in the lifemiles.com flight search rather than in a published chart.
- A special offers section lists discounted award prices on selected destinations.
- Avianca help centre: refund fees on tickets redeemed with Lifemiles
- Singapore Airlines KrisFlyer
- Saver awards are limited, Advantage awards offer more seats at a higher price, and Access awards are priced dynamically and come on top of the award seats, on Singapore Airlines flights only.
- Awards are subject to capacity controls, and Singapore Airlines allocates the seats at its sole discretion.
- KrisFlyer service fees
- Cathay Pacific Asia Miles
- Standard Awards are subject to capacity control, which may limit the number of seats on a flight.
- Cathay FAQ: cancelling an award ticket
- Korean Air SKYPASS
- Peak and off-peak chart pricing; when a flight is full the Book Award Waitlist service applies.
- The award calendar shows Korean Air flights only; SkyTeam awards are searched separately.
- Korean Air: international award ticket changes and refunds
- JAL Mileage Bank
- Award seats are limited per flight; up to 9 passengers can be booked when seats allow.
- Some partner airlines open award bookings less than 360 days out.
- JAL: cancellations and refunds of award tickets
- ANA Mileage Club
- ANA says there are no blackout dates on its international flight awards; prices vary by Low, Regular and High season instead.
- International awards can waitlist one flight on one one-way sector until 14 days before the first flight, though requests "may not be accepted" depending on seat availability. On Japan domestic awards, for flights from May 19, 2026 only Diamond members can waitlist, one flight on one one-way sector, up to two weeks before departure.
- Since May 19, 2026 premium members and Super Flyers Card holders get priority reservations on Japan domestic awards.
- ANA: Changes and refunds for international flight awards
- Qantas Frequent Flyer
- Classic Flight Rewards are capacity controlled and each airline sets the number of seats at its absolute discretion; some flights have none.
- Classic Plus Flight Rewards are priced dynamically off the fare and cover more seats.
- Qantas: Classic Flight Rewards
- Virgin Australia Velocity
- Reward Seats are capacity controlled at fixed prices by distance, with limited availability; Virgin Australia domestic economy has a range of prices within each band, from 5,900 points up to 600 miles.
- Any Seat bookings are priced from the cash fare and need more points overall, but unlike Reward Seats they earn points and Status Credits; Points + Pay needs at least 100 points per person per sector.
- Platinum and Platinum Plus members can ask for a guaranteed Economy Reward Seat at least six months ahead; Gold benefit periods starting on or after 1 October 2025 no longer include it (terms, clauses 8.1 and 8.2).
- Virgin Australia: Velocity Reward Seat fare rules
- British Airways Club
- Reward seats are capacity controlled. British Airways guarantees minimums on its own flights from Heathrow and Gatwick: 8 economy, 2 premium economy and 4 business seats, and 2 business plus 2 economy from London City.
- Partner rewards depend on the availability the partner airline decides to release.
- The British Airways Club: booking and service fees
- Lufthansa Miles & More
- Award flights can be booked when seats are available in the award booking class for the travel class chosen; the airline decides how many.
- Mileage Bargains promotions offer discounted awards on selected routes for limited periods.
- Miles & More: award flight terms and conditions
- Air France-KLM Flying Blue
- Partners may unilaterally restrict the number of rewards available and cannot guarantee seats, in the Air France general conditions.
- Flying Blue has a news page on Light, Standard and Flex reward tickets from September 2026, but it loads only with JavaScript, so the rules for each fare could not be read.
- Air France: Flying Blue general conditions
- Turkish Airlines Miles&Smiles
- Seat Guaranteed awards have no allocation limit: as long as a seat is for sale, an award ticket can be issued.
- Capacity Controlled and promotion awards have a defined number of seats per flight, which Turkish does not publish.
- Miles&Smiles award travel terms and conditions
- Virgin Atlantic Flying Club
- Every seat on every Virgin Atlantic operated flight can be bought with points unless the cabin is sold out; Saver prices are subject to availability and not on every flight.
- Partner airlines may limit reward seats and can take up to 48 hours to confirm a booking.
- Flying Club terms and conditions (effective 30 October 2024)
- Emirates Skywards
- Classic Saver, Flex and Flex Plus rewards; Platinum members get a Last Seat Flex Plus reward on any seat that is for sale.
- Emirates Skywards FAQ
- Etihad Guest
- Saver Awards (the former GuestSeat) are limited; since November 2025 flexible award options cover every seat in every cabin on every flight.
- Etihad help centre: fares FAQ (Saver Award change and cancellation table)
- Qatar Airways Privilege Club
- Award seats may not be available on all flights or in all classes.
- The Avios for a request are blocked from the account while the booking is processed.
- Privilege Club: award ticket fees
Finding the seats
- Search the operating airline's own program first, then one partner program per alliance: Aeroplan or United for Star Alliance, British Airways or Qantas for oneworld, Flying Blue or Virgin Atlantic for SkyTeam. Together they show nearly all partner-bookable space.
- Search one seat at a time. Multi-passenger searches hide flights with a single saver seat, and two seats can often be booked as two separate one-way awards.
- Look at both ends of the window: the day the schedule opens, and the last 14 days before departure, when unsold premium seats are released.
- Use the calendar or flexible-date view where the program has one. Saver space clusters on midweek dates and outside school holidays.
- When a seat is visible with the operating airline but not a partner, wait a few hours and check again; partner inventory feeds lag. If it never appears, the airline released it only to its own members.
- If the seat is there but the miles are not, check whether the program allows a hold or waitlist before transferring bank points, because transfers cannot be reversed.
Total availability, honestly
There is no published count of award seats, per flight or across a program. Airlines report the miles they issue and redeem in dollar terms (see loyalty economics) but not seats. What members can observe is that saver space in long-haul business class is typically zero to two seats per flight, that economy saver space is far more common, and that the programs which price dynamically will sell any seat at some price. A balance that only works for saver premium seats therefore carries real availability risk, which is one reason valuations discount it and one reason a fixed cash offer can beat waiting for a seat.
Award availability FAQ
- How many award seats does an airline release per flight?
- Airlines do not publish a number. Saver inventory in each cabin is set by revenue management flight by flight and is often one or two seats in business class and zero on peak dates, while standard or dynamic awards can be any unsold seat at a higher price. The pattern that holds across programs is that partner-bookable space is the smaller saver pool.
- How far in advance can I book an award flight?
- Most programs open awards when the schedule loads, 331 to 361 days before departure: American, Delta, Alaska and Virgin Atlantic about 331 days, United 337, Qantas 353, British Airways 355, Cathay and JAL 360, Lufthansa and Korean Air 361. Only some programs state the window on their own pages; the table marks the rest as secondary.
- Why can I see a seat on one program's site but not another's?
- Because the operating airline releases different inventory to its own members and to partners, and because partner sites lag. Some carriers give their own members extra space; some programs display partner space that others hide. Searching the operating airline's own program and one partner program covers most cases.
- Can I hold an award seat before I have the miles?
- A few programs do. American gives a free one-day hold on awards booked 7 or more days out, Turkish gives an option period after a reservation, and United sells a paid FareLock. Most programs offer no hold, and Singapore, Korean Air and JAL offer waitlists on their own flights instead. The table shows each program's rule.